I am going to scream if one more person says…

“Hitch hiking is dangerous! You musn’t! Do your realize there are SEX OFFENDERS out there???!!!”

I started dreaming about hitch hiking when I was 12. I did it for the first time when I was 17 but only because we were bored. A few years later I hitch hiked up and down Vancouver Island for two weeks with my friend Katherine. And of course last summer Casper and I got dozens of rides over four months when it was our only transport through southern Oregon and nothing California.

We ditched one ride because of bad vibes. One ride, out of dozens. He hadn’t slept and was probably on something. We grabbed our packs from the bed of his pick up while he was inside paying at a gas station. As we walked toward 101 to start hitching again, a lovely librarian picked us up and gave us a ride right into the heart of San Francisco.

Casper working on getting us from Half Moon Bay to San Francisco.

People keep saying DON’T HITCH HIKE IT IS DANGEROUS. And then they say DON’T PICK UP HITCH HIKERS IT IS DANGEROUS.

This isn’t the world I want to live in, folks! I have been the driver cruising passed hitchers and I have been the person on the corner with her thumb in the air. Trust your gut, regardless of which position you are in. We are all humans, all sharing this planet. The likelihood of you dying in a car crash is way bloody higher than a hitch hiker you feel good about hurting or robbing you.

Leave a Reply

